goes in circles.

They strolled together around the pond in Central Park. There was an autumn chill in the air and the trees wore full colours. They both were bundled in coats and scarves. The electric boats on the pond were worked by excited children, turning around in circles on the oily surface of the pond. In a few more weeks it would be ice.

They continued walking and talking.

“Do you think I should invest in this scheme of Andy’s? He’s my best friend, I love him like a brother, but I’m not sure about the other guy,” he said.

“If you don’t really trust the other guy, maybe you shouldn’t do it,” she said.

“But I trust Andy. And, you know, he vouches for him. He says he’s great guy.”

“OK, then perhaps it’s alright. You should go ahead if you trust Andy.”

“He wants me to do the administration, and help him source the olive oil. He says this other guy has great connections for selling it. Knows someone who knows someone who buys for Whole Foods.”

“Great!” she said. “Sounds like you should go ahead.”

They’d finished one circuit of the pond, but continued with another, deep in their conversation. Out on the cold water the electric boats whizzed in arabesques.

“But I’ve never been in the food business,” he said. “Oh, I’m a foodie, sure, and I know some great producers. You have to have the best product, and it’s the producers that count.”

“Yes,” she agreed.

“But I don’t feel confident about the business, you know? Export regs, and labels and all that.”

“So maybe it’s not a good idea?”

“But this guy Andy knows, Andy says he’s on top of all that.”

“Well, that’s OK then.”

“Yes, I trust Andy like my own brother…”

Their steps took them around the pond one more time, their feet rustling through the fallen leaves. They’d left a bit of a trail through the leaves now.

“But do you think it’s a good investment?”

“Why don’t you talk to your friend in the wine business about it?”

“James? Oh, I did. He said olive oil was a tough game. Too many brands in the market already.”

“Oh – well, James is a smart guy. Maybe you shouldn’t invest.”

“The thing is, Andy practically begged me. Said he really needed me on board. I don’t want to let him down.”

“Hmm – sounds like you should do it then.”

A light wind came up and stirred a little eddy of fallen leaves on the path ahead.

“Do you really think it’s a good investment?”


Leave a Reply

